Tilt and Shift Adapters

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by travisennis, Apr 21, 2011.

1. travisennis

travisennis Mu-43 Regular

Dec 27, 2010
    For m43 cameras I have found that Kipon makes a series of tilt adapters and Fotodiox makes a series of shift adapters. Has anyone ever used these? If so, how have you used them and could you share your experiences and results? I've never used tilt or shift lenses before, but it seems like the results can be interesting and it might be fun to experiment with on my GF-1.
  2. Colin Griffiths

Colin Griffiths New to Mu-43

I've got a Fotodiox shift adapter and did the following experiment:

The "Rich Gift Of Lins": Panasonic GF1 Fotodiox EOS Shift Adapter Olympus Zuiko Lens

Since then, in addition to 28 and 50mm lenses, I also purchased OM24mm and OM100 lenses with the intention of using them with the shift adapter for stitching images. I also own and use Canon 24 and 45mm TS-e lenses that use with a 5D MkII and I find that for my style of photography that the 24mm TS-e gets used more frequently of the two. When this style is translated into m43 terms, my OM24mm lens becomes a 48mm lens and as such is not a focal length that I find having shift for is very useful for. In addition, after thinking that I wanted more resolution, I've learnt to realise that for my needs, the resolution that I get from my GF1 is more than sufficient and I don't ever feel the need to stitch images either. Consequently the Fotodiox shift adapter doesn't get used but sits in the drawer; another experiment that was just that, an experiment! Personally, I find the native Panasonic lenses to be so good and such a good match to the GF1, that I struggle to find a reason why I would want to use the OM lenses on it. There's a part of my past though, that simply loves the design, feel and look of those manual lenses and I guess I just like owning them despite not using them!
    • Like Like x 2
  3. maxsoul

maxsoul Mu-43 Regular

Jan 23, 2011