Thoughts on my next Lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by cpbog1, Nov 14, 2013.

1. cpbog1

cpbog1 New to Mu-43

Nov 12, 2013
    Hi everyone!

I am fairly new to photography, but as of right now, my lens distribution is as follows:

Panasonic 14mm
    Panasonic 45-200mm telephoto lens

I am looking to invest in another lens that provides good synergy with these two lenses. I have been leaning towards an Olympus 45mm for a portrait lens. Thoughts on this lens vs. the Panasonic 20mm?

Also, has anyone had any experience with macro-adapters? Essentially, it is used to increase the focal length of current lenses to create a macro image.

Thanks everyone!
  2. hazwing

hazwing Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 25, 2012
    If you want to take lots of portraits then get the 45mm. Otherwise I feel the 20mm would fill out the gaps in your lens selection better. If you can afford it and don't mind the larger size, get the panasonic 25mm. The 25mm could double up as a portrait lens (to a certain degree). The faster aperture will still give you some shallowish DOF.
  3. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    I agree with hazwing. The Sigma 19 is also a cheaper alternative to the Pana 20.

Another alternative (at a price) is to sell the 14 and replace it with a 12-35. The IQ and max aperture is the same (more or less) as your 14, but it'll go wider and give you good portrait coverage.
  4. greenlight

greenlight Mu-43 Regular

Nov 16, 2012
    Colin B
    For the shooting that I like to do, PL25 would be my choice to best fit in with what you have already. Very versatile, great for low light and makes nice portraits even if its a bit shorter than ideal for that task.

If you make a lot of headshot style portraits, the Oly 45mm would be a better bet, but it is less versatile for general low light shooting.