This might has been asked before but...

Truebeam

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
37
Location
San Francisco Bay Area
What settings do you use to export image from LR so you will get the best result (without loosing too much details and sharpness) while uploading here, or anywhere on the web, e.g., Facebook, Flickr, 500px...Many thanks in advance!
 

OzRay

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
4,991
Location
South Gippsland, Australia
Real Name
Ray, not Oz
I never upload anything directly from Lightroom. I always export a full sized JPG to a folder and then adjust size etc in Photoshop to suit the medium, and then upload.
 

Wisertime

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Messages
2,810
Location
Philly
Real Name
Steve
I use 1600pixes., to 2400 pixels on the long end, sharpen for screen, 300dpi and around 80% compression .jpg (or whatever it's called)
I think AMin said 1600x900ish was ideal.
 

Wisertime

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Messages
2,810
Location
Philly
Real Name
Steve
I never upload anything directly from Lightroom. I always export a full sized JPG to a folder and then adjust size etc in Photoshop to suit the medium, and then upload.
That seems like double work. Why not just use an export preset (web, email, print etc) in LR and export to a folder? Why bother w/photoshop to resize (unless you need to do PP there)? Just wondering. Seems unnecessary.
 

OzRay

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
4,991
Location
South Gippsland, Australia
Real Name
Ray, not Oz
That seems like double work. Why not just use an export preset (web, email, print etc) in LR and export to a folder? Why bother w/photoshop to resize (unless you need to do PP there)? Just wondering. Seems unnecessary.
I just prefer it that way. I use LR to make the RAW adjustments and PS for final touch-up etc.
 

bassman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
1,051
Location
New Jersey
Real Name
The Bassman
In LR 5.5:

ProPhoto RGB, Limit file size to 300k (this overrides and greys out the Quality slider)
Resize to fit 1200x1200 pixels
Sharpen for Screen, Standard amount

This works for all of the forums I post in, but was originally set to work for Nikonians.

For Flickr, I use sRGB and a Quality of 60.
 

gryphon1911

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
3,742
Location
Central Ohio, USA
Real Name
Andrew
The amount of detail and sharpness are directly related to the options you choose when exporting. It will take some experimentation, but you'll have to figure out what works best for your workflow.
 

bassman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
1,051
Location
New Jersey
Real Name
The Bassman
If I understand correctly, sRGB would be a better choice for use on the internet.
I've read that as well, and I'm can't remember why I specified ProPhoto, or whether I simply made a mistake. I guess I should try both and see what I think.
 

OzRay

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
4,991
Location
South Gippsland, Australia
Real Name
Ray, not Oz
sRGB is the only colour gamut that you should use for the internet, as monitors differ so much that using ProPhoto can lead to all sort of visual changes. ProPhoto is fine for your own monitor, especially if you do printing, that also applies to AdobeRGB.
 

Truebeam

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
37
Location
San Francisco Bay Area
Thank you all for your input. I also discovered that Nik has Output Sharpener where you can choose which format you want your pictures to be sharpened for. Just started to watch some tutorial on youtube. Anyone has any experience with Nik Output Sharpener?
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom