This may be a dumb question, but.....

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Agent K, May 2, 2012.

1. I am relatively new to the MFT world having only used native lenses, I have a question about using antique lenses.

Is is possible to use an antique large format lens, if adaptable somehow, on an MFT camera. Has anyone tried it? Or is it not even worth trying.

Thank you in advance for my ignorance, I'm attempting to cure it. :rolleyes:
  2. Alf

Alf Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 23, 2010
    Northeastern Tuscany
    Most manual focus lenses from the past work using an adapter and shooting in aperture priority.
    To find the correct adapter you must know which mount your lenses use. If it's possible, someone out there already made an adapter and they are usually quite cheap.
    It's one of the joys of mu43. I use my old Konica AR lenses and a few others this way.
  3. Thanks, already have a couple adapters on order. I have been sifting through the adapted lens forum for a while. I have seen all kinds of adapters and adapted lenses on here, but nothing in the way of large format lenses (old bellows, and wet plate, if my terminology is correct). I know you get into some huge diameters to try and adapt so is it worth trying out though.
  4. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    You can use any lens that you can find a way to attach to the camera.

I've tried a number of lenses by jury rigging them to the front of a bellows unit. The problem with large format lenses is they are usually pretty long and slow. And if "antique", low resolution. The shortest large format lens I've tried is a 127mm from a Super Graphic. The results weren't worth it. There are much better lenses out there. If I want a "character" lens, there are other, easier ways to get there.

5. songs2001

songs2001 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2011
    It's possible. Can you change the aperture on the lens itself?