1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Thinking of returning my 12-42mm EZ... Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by WendyK, Mar 22, 2014.

1. WendyK

WendyK Super Moderator

Feb 28, 2014
    Northern Virginia
    Wendy
    I am relatively new to interchangeable lens world. Even though I was shooting with a very old Canon DSLR before i bought my E-M10 I never went beyond the kit zoom. I knew once I picked a new camera I would add a few more lenses. I picked the EZ pancake for my "pocketable" take everywhere lens as well as Oly 25mm/45mm primes and the 40-150mm zoom.

Well, as a new prime shooter I've been so blown away by the shots I've been getting from the primes that I find myself rarely using the EZ, and the shots from the EZ just don't compare. I also realized that when I use it, it's at 14mm when I really need that width.

so...I'm think of returning the zoom and getting the Panasonic 14mm instead (can't afford the Oly 12mm, and it's bigger anyway). I have never not had a "normal" zoom, though, and am a little worried I'll miss it. Besides going through my old photos' EXIF data to see how often I'm using focal lengths that couldn't realistically be replaced by the primes (I'm in the process of doing that) is there anything else I should consider? The 14mm would then become my take everywhere lens, though I would likely bring the 25mm instead (or as well) on occasion depending on where I'm going. I know the 14mm isn't as fast as the 25/45 and that's OK but I presume the overall sharpness/performance would be quite a bit better than the EZ zoom, correct?

Anyone here go prime only and regret it? Any comments on the Panny 14 as a take everywhere lens? Are there any other native prime lenses I should consider to complement the 25/45 in a similar price range? I know the 12-40 would be great, but if it won't fit easily in my purse I'm not likely to bring it. Too $$$ and too big for what I'm looking for.

Thanks!

2. SRHEdD