Thinking of Diving In

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by darkhorse, Jun 20, 2015.

1. darkhorse

darkhorse New to Mu-43

Jun 20, 2015
    Hi all,
    I've been in kind of a dormant phase in my extracurricular or art photography for many years now. I am actually a professional photographer who specializes in numismatic photography (if you can believe that) but that's beside the point. The Mu-43 systems from Olympus seem very appealing to me, and I'd like your input on the gear I end up choosing.

I've been kind of blasé about digital photography for the longest time. I hated lugging around [Canon] DSLRs and lenses, and so I had a long period of using old film cameras. I had a Hasselblad 500cm, a Yashica TLR, a Minolta Autocord (which was my favorite of those medium format cameras), but I preferred something smaller so I had a variety of Olympus 35mm cameras: OM1, OM2, 35-RC, 35-SP, XA, and Stylus Epic. But I got sick of shooting/processing/developing/scanning film, and so I've just been using Canon s90-s100 on vacations for the past several years.

My favorite gear from those film days were the 35-RC for its size, normal lens, and sharpness (not so great "bokeh"), the body of the OM1n with a gorgeous Zuiko 100mm ƒ2.8 lens attached (I had a 50mm but felt kind of limited by it), and the Olympus Stylus Epic which I've taken some of my favorite photos with (but lacks a lot control).

I see lots of potential with the new line of Oly M43 cameras. For sure the first lens I want would be the Zuiko 17mm/1.8. I mean I've seen lots of example photos from it and something about it reminds me a lot of the Stylus Epic (besides from it also being a 35mm equivalent focal length).