1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Thinking about the 20 and 25

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Promit, Dec 17, 2011.

1. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    In January, I'm going on a trip to Qatar and I've been pondering what to add to my camera kit before I go. Given where I am financially and as a photographer, I have no interest in keeping these lenses long term; I've got my kit. So the cost of the lens is no object within reasonable bounds, because I'm just going to resell them the moment I get back. (Rental is more expensive than this plan, I think.) I feel like a fast normal is going to be a useful addition for the trip. Here's what I've got:

Bodies: Oly PM1 (favored), Panny G2
    Lenses: 14, 14-42, 45, 45-200, legacy fast-fifty

So focal length coverage isn't exactly a problem, especially as UWA bores me. That rules out the 12, 7-14, and 9-18 as having any allure whatsoever. I'm not feeling telescopic, so the 100-300 is unnecessary. And I've got the 45, so shallow depth portrait shots are basically covered too (no interest in macro). I just feel like I need something fast between the 14 and the 45, especially for low light.

I plan to use mainly the Oly body. I'm nervous about poor AF by the 20mm in low light situations; is the 25 substantially better on this front? I don't care about the rattlesnake and I don't plan to shoot video. The 25 does represent a bigger cash vulnerability I guess, and it's not a miracle of compactness. I can probably squeeze the 20mm into my existing bag with the 14/45/45-200, but that's definitely not going to happen with the 25. I'm more fond of the 25's FL and I think it fits better between the 14 and 45 -- but it's hardly dramatic. The 25 does need to justify the extra size and hassle, though.

So, what would you suggest?

2. Rudi

Rudi Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 16, 2010
    Australia