Thinking about buying an EPL1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by jules, Jul 8, 2010.

1. jules

jules New to Mu-43

Jul 8, 2010
    Hi....I'm new at this....would like to know more about the OlympusEPL1. I had an Olympus E-500 and dropped it...ouch....it's going to cost too much to fix it. I am looking at the Olympus EPL1....would like to know if it's worth it and I am from Canada....

I am heading to the states next week and wondered if I should buy it there instead or if you know of a good online store that I could get a good deal?

Thanks in advance!

Jules

• Like Like x 2
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Welcome jules! I am sorry about your E-500, that sounds terrible!

We've got some really good threads in this Olympus forum about the E-PL1. I've moved your post from the E-PL1 Image Thread to create a new one here. Meanwhile take a scroll through this forum and see what you can find. You can also read the Reviews by accessing them through the Reviews tab on the upper righthand portion of the website.

Obviously, I love my E-PL1 - you see my "review" in that section I just mentioned.:biggrin:

Here is a short thread that has links to other very helpful threads all about the E-PL1: https://www.mu-43.com/f42/since-i-dont-know-much-about-e-pl-1-a-2611/ :thumbup:

I hope you'll find these helpful!

Periodically different stores offer different deals. Sometimes members post about them in the Classifieds section here. As for buying in Canada vs the USA, I really can't comment but you should definitely compare prices at various stores. Are you going to be in Manhattan? Both B & H Photo and Adorama are two very good photography stores and they have an online component, too. You can also check out Costco and Best Buy but you won't get any hands on experience there or knowledgable sales help, whereas you will at a competent camera store.

3. Jules,