Things learnt from 23 years of amateur photography

jamespetts

Mu-43 Top Veteran
I first took up photography as a hobby in 1995 at the age of 15 when my father gave me an ancient all manual film SLR shortly before a cousin's wedding. I have been a happy amateur since then, and progressed through a Canon FD system, Canon digital compacts of the mid 2000s and eventually to Micro Four Thirds.

For those at the beginning of their journey into amateur photography, some of the things learnt over the preceding 23 years might be of assistance. For those wishing to become a professional photographer, I suggest taking tips from those who have already succeeded in the profession rather than an amateur on an internet forum.

The following are in no particular order save the order in which they came to my mind. I hope that these will be of assistance to at least some.

• Always carry spare batteries.
  • Always invest in good backup for your photographs, including off-site backup. RAID is not backup: it is merely redundancy (not that that is a bad thing in and of itself; but it is not sufficient).
  • Buy secondhand where possible (apart from memory cards, batteries, computer storage devices and similar). It is vastly better value for money than buying new. Amateurs will use our cameras far less intensively than professionals as there is generally far less time to dedicate to hobbies than to earning a living. Secondhand cameras, lenses and accessories designed to be able to be used by professionals but actually used by amateurs will usually have plenty of life left in them.
  • Try cameras for feel in a shop. The handling can make a big difference. Consider renting a camera to test its handling (although I must confess that I have not gone this far myself).