The VF-2 surprised me

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by nuclearboy, May 27, 2013.

1. nuclearboy

nuclearboy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2011
    Ellicott City, MD
    A short story for those of you who are considering a view finder.

I have been playing with M43 cameras for a few years now and have always wondered if a view finder would help. Framing and focusing have been occasionally difficult for me but not really a problem. I also need reading glasses (which I typically don't have on when I am outside shooting) and that makes things less than ideal when holding the camera 12 inches from my face.

The price of the view finders has been a key deterrent. I almost bought a VF-3 when they were on sale but some reviews made me think I would like more resolution so I balked. To make a long story short, I ended up getting a deal on a VF-2 last week and just returned from a weekend trip to NYC. I did not expect much and was surprised that at the end of the first day I had not even pulled the VF-2 out. On the second day, I took a boat ride and had some time to fiddle with my camera. I installed the VF-2 and immediately realized how wonderful this thing was.

The VF-2 made shooting much easier and I could see the screen clearly without my reading glasses. I have the VF-2 with the accessory (larger) eyepiece mounted on the E-PM2. I immediately felt like I could frame the pictures better, hold the camera more steady, and see the focus and lighting better. It really felt like a different camera. The screen just popped out at me.

Bottom line, I am not sure if the VF-2 is worth $200 or not but I do know that for me, it makes shooting outdoors much more enjoyable.

2 cents worth from a new VF-2 lover....

Sample of lower Manhattan as seen from the boat tour.

• Like Like x 1
  2. drd1135

drd1135 Zen Snapshooter

Mar 17, 2011
    Southwest Virginia
    Great shot. I completely understand the reading glasses problem. It's the most pressing reason to get an evf.
  3. vm666