The switch

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Jessestr, Jul 7, 2014.

1. Jessestr

Jessestr Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 7, 2014
    Hi all :)

I'm new to these forums.. I'll try to keep it short.

I am a young photographer who is mainly shooting personal work with models. Can find my work on www.jessestr.be
    Currently shooting a Leica M6 & Rolleiflex 3.5B

I switched to film in January and never had anything digital again. I owned a Fuji X10, Nex-5, Canon 7D, Leica M8 in the digital world. Finally traded my M8 for a film M6 and never looked back.
    As I still like film over digital I want to extend my portfolio with commercial things like fashion and editorial shoots. I feel I need a digital camera again for this matter as I want to shoot a lot more and with film it's doable but just so expensive.

First idea was a Canon/Nikon fullframe with a Zeiss Planar f1.4 / 50mm but kinda came out expensive. And huge in terms of size.
    I always liked the M43 system or crop systems like the Fuji X-T1 (But they don't really have the lenses I need).

So my point.. Is the M43 system good enough to handle the needs for fashion/editorial photography. Depth of field, sharpness, ISO, ..
    I like the Olympus OM-D series A LOT. The lenses seem so fine and all the focal lengths I need.. I'm just a bit bothered with the bokeh and depth of field issue because of such a small sensor.
    Don't be mad at me for that, I'm used to big negatives which give me creamy smooth bokeh with my current lenses. Although most shots in fashion are not made wide open. But sometimes I will need the smaller DOF.

I'm seriously doubting about selling the M6 with my lenses and buy the OM-D system. So I can still shoot my personal work on the Rolleiflex and the other work on a digital camera.

Just need to be convinced about the M43 system. It looks good... but is it? Shouldn't I go fullframe?

A huge thanks :)!

2. CarlG

CarlG Mu-43 Regular

Jun 6, 2013
    Tampa, FL
    Carl