The 'Stan

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by medavid2, Apr 16, 2013.

1. medavid2

medavid2 Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 17, 2013
    I'm a beginner that just received my GF5 and still learning how to shoot with it. Here are a couple of my first shots. Shot with the Panasonic 14mm pancake. Resized in order to upload via microsoft paint. :smile:

Afghan_RTB.

Taking_a_Picture.JPG

2. migs

migs Mu-43 Regular

Dec 24, 2012
    RVA
    firstly, big thank you to you and all the other troops for all that you do.

secondly, that 1st photo is kick ass.

stay safe!!

3. medavid2

medavid2 Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 17, 2013
    Thanks for the support! I tried to reuploaded a slightly bigger picture of the first image in my gallery, but it hasn't refreshed on my post.

The patrolmen that we work with are pretty awesome and I was happy to have been able to capture that moment.

I'm still (slowly) learning to use the camera. One of the issues that I have is overexposure, especially with color photos. I will try to upload more periodically (and hopefully show some progress).

4. medavid2

medavid2 Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 17, 2013
    Boss1.JPG

Guess who's in charge?

Mountains1.JPG

5. migs

migs Mu-43 Regular

Dec 24, 2012
    RVA
    i'd say you're off to good start. in terms of not blowing the skies out, exposure compensation and/or a neutral density filter will be your friend.

6. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    +1 :2thumbs: :th_salute:

7. scott

scott Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 15, 2010
    One suggestion--turn on the histogram display on your camera. That'll give you immediate feedback on your exposure, and you can the use the exposure compensation function to adjust. It seems like a lot of extra finger movements at first, but it quickly becomes automatic.

Keep posting!

8. Cruzan80

Cruzan80 Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    Denver, Co
    Sean Rastsmith
    I just want to know which one of you is named Stan...