1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

The OMD Olympus OM-D E-M10

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by oldschoolcq, Sep 16, 2016.

1. oldschoolcq

oldschoolcq New to Mu-43

Sep 16, 2016
    CA
    Gary
    Hello, newbie here. Gary is my name. Warmest regards..

Noticed tonight that the OM-D E-M10 camera can be had for $399 on Amazon now. I am quite new to the OMD and noted that it is much smaller than the E-300 I have now. Is the E-300 a "micro" 4/3? Is that the difference in the size camera and lens? I love the reviews on preview and will likely get this camera in the near future. Are there any comments as to a good macro lens, or a news that doubles as a macro? Love crystal clear close up work.

2. Nathanael

Nathanael Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 12, 2015
    The E-M10 is a good camera, and since it's a few years old now the price has fallen quite a bit, making it a pretty good value as well.

Your E-300 is a "regular" 4/3 camera. It is a SLR, which basically means it has a flapping mirror between the lens and the sensor, just like an old film SLR or modern Canon/Nikon DSLR.

The new "micro" 4/3 line of cameras gets rid of the mirror and instead the light goes straight from the lens to the sensor. In order to frame and compose your shots, the sensor does a continuous live read-out which is sent to the LCD display on the back, as well as a tiny display in the eye-piece (imitating the viewfinder+mirror of a SLR).

The new "micro" 4/3 cameras refers to all cameras with the 4/3 size sensor (same as your E-300) that have no mirror. Usually they are physically smaller, but not by definition. The important thing is the lens design is changed, meaning you will need an adapter if you want to use the lenses from your E-300 on the E-M10. You can also buy new "micro 4/3" lenses, of which there is a wide selection.

Olympus makes a good 60mm macro lens for micro 4/3, if you're looking for "true" (1:1) macro.

Good luck, thanks for posting :)