1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

The boys' Christmas party, and I'm the photographer!

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Neftun, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Neftun

Neftun Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 15, 2012
    Norway
    Patrick Kristiansen
    So it is that time og year. The guys gather for poker, traditional food and lots of drink, as all Norwegians do in one way or another. As part of the commitee this year, I was charged with taking photos. I am by no means a pro, and I am not getting paid now. I find taking pics according to others expectations a bit intimidating, to be honest. So I am seeking advice...

I think I have the necessary gear, but I want to keep it simple, as I and everyone will be inebriated, and I don't wanna risk too much:)

I have the following gear (af):

Oly em1
    Oly ep1
    Oly 12-40
    Oly 45
    Oly 75
    PL 25
    Pana 14
    Tripod
    Nikon sb26 flash

Everyone will be shot individually as they enter, probably striking a silly pose. There will be a pokerchampion being handed a trophy, and live music. We will start early, finish late. I want to catch some candid shots, not too much posing.

Any advice on what to bring, or rather what to leave behind? Should I bother with the flash? I would bounce it off the walls or ceiling, as ttl is a no-go.

Thanks!

Patrick K

2. bassman

bassman Mu-43 Top Veteran

Apr 22, 2013
    New Jersey
    Scott
    Em1, 12-40, flash
    Set on auto-everything
    Turn on the camera and flash
    Shoot

3. drd1135

drd1135 Zen Snapshooter

Mar 17, 2011
    Southwest Virginia
    Steve
    Sounds like a good plan. Definitely the body and lens I'd pick.

4. DynaSport

DynaSport Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 5, 2013
    Dan
    If you can get any kind of diffuser for the flash I'd recommend it.

5. Ver7igo

Ver7igo Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 7, 2012