1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

The 'best' tripod/ballhead for EM5?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by JCWOlson, Mar 9, 2014.

1. JCWOlson

JCWOlson Mu-43 Regular

Mar 9, 2014
    First off, I'm not a professional photographer - it's a hobby that pays for itself, but by no means my primary source of income.
    That said, my job takes me to some pretty sweet places, and having my EM5 handy is great, but sometimes I really regret not having a better tripod. My current tripod is a Christmas present from a friend; not sure how much it cost, but probably not that much - the thin aluminum legs flex, just me touching the screen on my EM5 is enough to blur shots if I don't turn on antishock, etcetera. I pack it in my bag when I go north for work, but usually it stays in my room instead of in my truck.

I don't have any exotic or amazing glass, just the kit 12-50, the 40-150, and with an alpha adapter, a couple Minolta lenses, 28-80 and 75-300.

I do a bit of everything; landscapes, wildlife, children playing, a bit of macro, some infrared, and a bit of astrophotography

I'd prefer to test stuff out in a store, but I'm currently a ten hour drive from the nearest store that actually carries what I want to look at, so I'll be ordering in from BH or Adorama without a chance to test it first.

My needs are:
    -Rugged for outdoors/abuse
    -Somewhat compact; attach to the outside of a pack, stow in a duffel bag, chuck it behind my seat
    -Long-lasting - I want to buy one tripod and one ballmount, then forget them for a decade
    -Not overkill for my system
    -Steady as she goes - minimal droop with longer lenses

Preferences:
    -Carbon fiber
    -NOT twist lock
    -Tall - I'm 197cm(6'6)

I'm trying to pick a budget, but it would just be an arbitrary number. Let's say $800 for both. I make decent paychecks.