The "best" settings for e-pl2

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by binzaqr, Aug 26, 2011.

1. binzaqr

binzaqr New to Mu-43

Aug 26, 2011
    Greetings ,
    This is my first post here :)

I am a novice photographer and am trying to develop myself and learn more, I had used several compact cameras, but i feel that i still need more.
    so I purchased E-PL2 after seeing many reviews & realy good images from different users in this forum and on internet.

but these days i feel some kind of continuous disappointments cause I’m feeling that my photos are not so sharp or really good quality as my previous smaller sensor canon S95!!! I don’t want to blame my camera but i blame my skills & experience because I’m seeing other forum members had always gorgeous photos.

as you all a senior users for M4/3 system please advice me, Is there any settings that I should used? any adviced sttings make my pics sharper and colourful?? I had read a lot about photography and trying to get better but I don’t know why I didn’t had any progress with this great little camera while other do? what did i miss???

Also, is there any recommended lenses according to portraiture, weddings & landscapes?

In conclusion, I believe that the camera is a "tool" in the hands of "artist" and I aspire to be an artist like you and others

Thank you all

2. CarlB

CarlB Mu-43 Veteran

Post some of your photos with the E-PL2, tell us what you hoped to bring out in the shot, perhaps we can help a bit ...

Oh yes, and my own experience -

Portrait - 50mm and wide aperture (< f2 for bokeh)
    Landscape - 20mm or less tight aperture (> f5 for all-over sharpness)
    Weddings - 2 cameras ready with the following lenses: a) 40-200mm zoom for reach b) 20mm f1.7 for low-light and wider view.

(Not an expert, but I can grab a few cool shots with Oly Pens ...)

3. klrman

klrman Mu-43 Regular

Aug 11, 2011