Tempted to buy the E-PM2

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by memzinla, Nov 22, 2012.

1. memzinla

memzinla Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 31, 2012
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've been wanting the OM-D for a long time because of the smaller size, it's weather sealed, IBIS is amazing, and has an EVF. I said I would buy it once I sold my Canon gear, and only sold a lens and bought a Sony RX100 right after to use at concerts. I feel guilty about buying the RX100 because I would only use it for concerts, and it's almost the same price as the E-PM2. I feel like I shouldn't have two cameras for specific purposes now that I'm a college student, and would like to have just one camera for all occasions. The Black Friday price for the E-PM2 price is so tempting! My ideal lenses on m4/3 is the Panasonic 25mm, and later on when I can afford it the 12mm F2 lens.

Should I just save up for the OM-D, and try to avoid buying the E-PM2? Do you think there will be something replacing the OM-D soon, or do you think it will be like the Panasonic GH series where it's every 18 months or 2 years? I'm just curious on what you think about it, since PEN replacements seem to come out so often.

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    IF you have to save up for the OM-D, I'm guessing you won't be able to afford the Leica 25mm Summilux and m.Zuiko 12mm/2 you want. I would just get the E-PM2 and save your money towards glass.

3. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    Generally speaking, higher models are replaced more slowly. Don't know if that will hold for the EM5 or not.

4. svtquattro

svtquattro Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 24, 2012
    Vancouver, Canada
    Same situ for me, being an OM-4T owner from college days. I decided e-pm2 was enough with the OM-D sensor. $400 cheaper (assume the $1049 oM-d kit and selling the lens).