1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Tamrac Rally 4??

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by WT21, Apr 28, 2012.

1. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Does anyone use the Tamrac Rally 4? Any opinions/insight? I might also be shopping a used one, if applicable.

2. sjducks

sjducks Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 29, 2012
    chicago, il
    I use a Rally 5 and overall it is a nice bag (although I have limited experience with other brands). Build quality is above par and the size allows me to throw in my E-P2 and E-PM1, the kit lens, a Sigma 19mm, and a CCTV with a few filters, batteries and other small essentials. One great thing that I was looking for was a small padded/protected slot to slide a tablet into. I'm enjoying it thus far.

3. DizzyV6P

DizzyV6P Mu-43 Regular

Apr 13, 2012
    Maryland
    I also have the new Rally 5. I bought it to hold my iPad and cameras. The Rally 4 is slightly smaller and does not hold an iPad The only beef I have with these new bags are the clips. I find them flimsy and not as sturdy as Tamrac's other clips. I really like the clips on the Zuma series. At least Tamrac has a velcro piece along with the clip just in case the clip ever comes loose.

I highly recommend going into a store and playing with the bag. I love the versatility of the Rally series, its slim profile, and light weight. It's also a LOT cheaper than the Think Tank Retrospective 5 that I was looking at as well. My big issue with the Think Tank is the lack of a clip of any kind. The Retro 5 depends on two big velcro pieces to keep the flap closed. It's doesn't exactly instill confidence in the safety of my equipment.

Plus, I picked up the Rally 5 at 25% off at the Penn Camera tent sale last weekend. You can't beat the price when compared to many other similar bags.

4. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston