1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Taking visitors on a photowalk around your city

Discussion in 'Mu-43 Member Activities, Meetups, and Hangouts' started by quatchi, May 19, 2013.

1. quatchi

quatchi Mu-43 Veteran

May 17, 2012
    Munich, Germany
    Here is an idea I've had in mind for quite some time now.

I love traveling (business and private) as well as photography. That's why I always bring my camera and try to take some time to wander around whenever I am new to a place. The thing is that quite often I only end up in the major tourist spots - which of course are interesting. The true spirit of a city, however, is mostly in the off beaten side streets and squares, only known to the locals. That's where my idea comes in. How about creating a thread where people are offering to take visitors on a photowalk around their city/area/whatever. People would enlist for which city they are available and visitors can contact them via private message (PM) to agree upon a date. The local person, of course, is not obliged to go for a photowalk. The local, on the other hand, shouldn't charge the visitor anything. The visitor, however, might choose to say "thank you" in a form of paying a beer in a local pub afterwards, for instance. How to deal with entrance fees (if any) could be discussed upfront via PM, email or by phone.

Here are the catchy bullet points what's in for everybody:

Local:
    - Encouraged to go out shooting more often in the own neighborhood
    - Meeting new and interesting people
    - Learn from other/foreign people's shooting styles (not the usual gang one hangs out with)
    - Looking forward to the next trip - that's where you could meet a local

Visitor:
    - A friendly person showing you around
    - Coming back home with not only the "standard postcards"
    - Meeting new and interesting people (this goes both ways;-) )
    - Learning from other person's shooting styles (again...)