T8 Ring-Flash on a Pen F?

gbealnz

New to Mu-43
Newbie here, albeit not new to the Olympus line. Happy, (very) owner of a Pen F and a couple of lenses. Not even sure if this is the correct thread to attach this to?

I go through an on an off relationship with the original OM system, and acquired a nice Olympus T8 ring-flash unit recently. I love the style and simple wonderfulness of this macro flash system, truly well ahead of it's time.

The question all this is leading up to has possibly been answered a few time. Can I use this "old" flash with my "new" digital Pen (or any other camera for that matter, Fuji X for example)? Obviously it is plug and play with the OM2/3/4 etc, biut I want to use it for digital if possible.

I read a very through and informative article about "converting" to use with the later digital cameras and controllers, but that is well beyond me, and something I don't really want to do. Using it in manual mode is fine, as long as it doesn't do damage.

I have spoken with a few people that have used them, one especially on a Canon 5D, but I am a tad hesitant to "just try it", as frying my Pen electrics is not an option.

Thanks for any and all help.

Gary

Attachments

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Real Name
Jan Steinman
If you're content with manual flash (two supported power levels, two additional un-documented ones) you can use the T-8 with the T Power Control, which you appear to have from the photo.

But if you want full automatic power control, you'll need to do some work, installing a new cable and a trigger coil, so the T-8 will work with the E-System FC-1 flash controller.

gbealnz

New to Mu-43
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thank you both, greatly appreciated.
Especially you Byte, it was your very informative article that I read recently, got me thinking, but no. I do not have the skill, nor the balls, to tackle this.
I can and will be content with manual operation.