Switching on & off between shots

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Ricoh, Feb 19, 2014.

1. Ricoh

Ricoh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 2, 2013
    I tend to switch the camera off between shots to conserve battery power. However, as an electronics engineer, I know the worst thing you can do to electronics (particularly the camera's internal power regulator and associated components) is to switch it on and off repeatedly. If anything is going to die, it's the initial stress at switch on that's going to kill it. I reason with myself that Olympus and other manufacturers have a soft start, and have designed and type proven it for a large number of power cycles, one after the other.
    Any thoughts from others? Do you leave the camera on and let it 'sleep' between shots, or switch off as I do?
  2. greenarcher02

greenarcher02 Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 13, 2012
    Manila, Philippines
    I usually tend to leave it on (because I forget), but I switch it off when I realize it's been a long time since it was on and if I know that I won't be taking any shots anytime soon.
  3. Itchybiscuit

Itchybiscuit Photon Mangler

Dec 10, 2013
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I leave it on and carry a spare battery.

I understand what you're saying about the initial switch on 'shock' to the system. There has to be a safe limit - everything else seems to have a built-in obsolescence (tv's, washing machines, cars) so why wouldn't our cameras?
  4. Fri13

Fri13 Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 30, 2014
    It is specifically teach to engineers in schools to use components what has required features but not more. You don't place more robust part than needed because cost is too high in most devices. That's why devices often break just before or after the warranty ends as some parts used have such specs for lifetime.

So when you want to sell "Pro" model, it more likely has few parts what last longer.
    This example is with Apple computers that they use more high quality semiconductors than PC manufacturers.