1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Suggestions for Legacy Lenses

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by RobertS, May 15, 2013.

1. RobertS

RobertS Mu-43 Regular

Feb 28, 2011
    I recently picked up a nice Oly E-PL2 and a couple of decent (to me) kit lenses. But now I'd like to try a couple of "legacy" manual lenses. Something like a faster 50mm and faster 135mm lens. What specific lenses do you recommend, and what adapter (I'm new to this, too) do I need for using such legacy lenses?
    Thanks

2. fin azvandi

fin azvandi Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 12, 2011
    South Bend, IN
    So many good choices, it's hard to go wrong as long as the lens is in good condition. Look for any of the major SLR and rangefinder lens manufacturers (Konica Hexanon, Pentax screwmount or K-mount, Minolta MD, Canon FD, Nikon, etc) - the adapter you'll need will depend on which lens you get as they each had different mounts.

A 50mm f/1.4 to f/2 will make a nice portrait or short telephoto, and are easy to find. Since you wanted specific recommendations I've tried the Hexanon 40/1.8, 50/1.7 and 50/1.8 and they were all great. I ended up preferring the Pentax SMC Takumar 50/1.4 to all of them though - beautiful rendering and amazing build quality.

I've also got a Hexanon 135/3.2 that is quite nice. I don't use it very often though since I find it too long for some things and too short for others.

3. wlewisiii

wlewisiii Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 16, 2011
    Hayward, WI
    William Barnett-Lewis
    Pre-AI Nikkor's are some of the best deals out there. Excellent lenses but little demand because the ears don't fit most modern Nikon digital cameras well. I have a F2 from before I bought my E-PL1 and then invested in a cheap adapter from Amazon. It works fine.