1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Suggestions for Handling 1500 RAW Images per Month

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by hunyuan7, Aug 10, 2012.

1. hunyuan7

hunyuan7 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 31, 2011
    Please suggest some ideas on how you would process 1,500 RAW images per month. Also, how did you learn how to work with a large number of RAW images?

I am new to this RAW process and I have started shooting RAW as of late with the intention of learning how to work with RAW images. I have tried fiddling with the bundled Silkypix 3.1 SE and the free download software RAWTherapee, but I am at a lost on how to work with them, especially since I take on average 1,500 RAW images per month.

2. MikeB

MikeB Mu-43 Regular

Jun 10, 2010
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm also new to RAW, though I am more likely to have a couple hundred shots from a weekend hike, not 1500 a month.

But based on advice from here and elsewhere, I went with Adobe Lightroom. It's got a number of features designed for professional photographers, and much of the focus is on managing large libraries of photos. There's a nice Library module with tools for sorting and organizing your images. You can quickly do a pass through your shots and flag the keepers and the rejects. You then do another pass and pick out the best of the best, making a collection of the ones that deserve attention. And there's a nice database function, so you can assign keywords for later searching, or even do searches based on metadata (so I could find all waterfalls taken with my Pana 20mm lens over the last year, as an example)