1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Suggestions / Comparisons on 14-140 and 14-150 lenses

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by dylanm, May 6, 2016.

1. dylanm

dylanm Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 15, 2016
    So I've been testing out the Olympus E-M10 for several months now and quite like it for some uses, particularly street and architecture. I currently only have the 14-42 3.5-5.6RII but would like to get a longer zoom for street photography. I feel I would like to keep a wide angle to avoid switching lenses often so I've been looking to some of the 14-140 and 14-150 options.

I am looking at
    Panasonic : LUMIX G VARIO 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH. POWER O.I.S.
    Tamron : 14-150mm F/3.5-5.8
    OLYMPUS : M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 14-150mm F4.0-5.6
    M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 14-150mm F4.0-5.6 II

I think that's of them in this range. I am on quite the budget (and don't think I can sell the 14-42 for much at all) and I believe the original MZ 14-150 is the easiest to find cheap. I know the newer version has a better build but anything else? I like that the Panasonic and Tamron have 3.5 at the wide end but .5 isn't too much of a difference.

2. davidzvi

davidzvi Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 12, 2012
    Outside Boston MA
    David
    The cheapest option is actually the older Panasonic 14-140 f/4.0-5.8. It's a bit bigger than the options, but still not too bad.

And the difference between the newer 14-140/150s and the original Pan 14-140 might leave room for a 14mm, 20mm, or Pan 12-32.

3. PacNWMike

PacNWMike Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Dec 5, 2014
    Salish Sea
    guess?
    The difference between the Oly 14-150 vI and vII is minor. I use the vII because the weather seal is great for hiking. YMMV, the vI may be perfectly adequate for your use and is a bargain.

edit: Is the EM10 even weather sealed? if not, vI would be the obvious choice then.

4. SVQuant

SVQuant Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 20, 2015
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Sameer