1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Suggested Wireless Strobe Trigger for GH3

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by perpetualjon, Feb 22, 2015.

1. perpetualjon

perpetualjon Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 30, 2013
    Southern California
    I am very new to flash photography but I am finding it necessary to get into for the desired portrait shots I want to produce. I have found what I think is a decent monolight that can produce 600W:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/311125008571

I am seeing a wide variety of wireless triggers out there. Some say they are for either Canon or Nikon. Is the GH3 compatible with some of these? Can you suggest a good starter trigger system for me?

Since the power is set on the monolight from the back, I probably don't need any of the more fancy controllers that will also control the flash power from the camera... Am I on the right track?

2. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Tacloban City, Philippines
    Dave
    Hi, I have limited experience with other flash triggers other than what I have been using, Pocketwizard Plus II. It can trigger both my Nikon and Panasonic bodies with no issues. Very reliable. HTH.

3. inkista

inkista Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 13, 2012
    San Diego, CA
    A lot of this depends on your definition of "compatible." Since the mft hotshoe follows the ISO standard, any triggers that will work on Canon or Nikon should fire a remote flash, since the sync signal is part of the ISO standard. However, any TTL triggers that work for Canon or Nikon will not give you TTL/HSS/remote commanding functionality used with an mft hotshoe. And anything other than a sync signal won't get communicated (e.g., wakeup signals).