Studying abroad in Norway

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by jaylife, Jan 3, 2014.

1. jaylife

jaylife Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 9, 2013
    Hey guys,

I'm going to be going over to Norway around July and study for a year. Whilst there I wanna try and get some good photos and of course, see the Northern Lights. My current gear is an e-pl5 with the 14-42 and the 9-18mm. I was wondering if you guys think there is a need for weather proofing? I was thinking maybe an e-m5 or even its rumoured successor? I'm worried that with the Norwegian weather, my camera might get damaged. I'm by no means a pro, but I would be quite devastated if anything happened to my camera.

At the moment I'm saving up for a 17mm 1.8 and I do have some money left to spend. I would say I'd spend a $1000, the less the better to save up for living expenses, but it is flexible. Is having a weatherproof body without a weatherproof lens basically useless? And if it is, should I possibly try and see if I can get either the 12-35 or 12-40?

Mainly interested in landscape photography, but like street as well, hence the 17mm.

Thanks, hopefully there's some detail in there for you guys to give some advice.

2. mtipton1064

mtipton1064 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 1, 2013
    The summer I used an EPL-5 in the rain. I protected it in a plastic bag that was held in place with a rubber band on a sun shade. This worked fine in some pretty heavy rain.

Norway is full of great scenery, I would suggest a zoom telephoto.

In what area will you be visiting?

Mike T.

3. HarryS

HarryS Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Midwest, USA
    Weatherproofing isn't any good when you want to change lenses and it's snowing, I was doing that on New Years day with my EPL5, holding the camera down. In rain, I've also wrapped a plastic bag around my PEN's.

4. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Hence why all weather sealed m4/3 lenses are zooms!

5. jaylife

jaylife Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 9, 2013