Student deciding among G1/GF1/EP1

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by gbpriv, Jul 1, 2010.

1. gbpriv

gbpriv New to Mu-43

Jul 1, 2010
    This is my first post on the m43 forum so I'll give a brief background, as well as what I'm looking for so that you can hopefully help me with my decision.

I am a college student looking to purchase a camera for the upcoming school year (for the moment). I have used a variety of point and shoots in the past, and most recently had a Canon G9. I have used a Nikon D80 & D90 through my school for the past year but am looking to get something of my own. After looking at tons of cameras and websites/forums/blogs, I have pretty much decided upon getting a m43 camera.

The majority of photo work I will be doing will revolve around portraits, documentary work, and basic landscape scenes. Little to no tripod use. I don't need superzoom/tele lenses, and would like something rather portable that I can carry around campus (the D90 was a little too big, and I wasn't a huge fan of the whole Nikon interface). In regards to the G1/GF1, I'm thinking the 20mm and 14-45mm would be fine for starters. I am not too familiar with the lenses for Olympus or all the other options, but wide compatibility is a reason I want to purchase a m43 device. I need to be able to record in RAW, and print up to 13x19.

The G1 interests me because of the viewfinder, but I realize that I probably don't need it, but am not sure how I feel about a more professional camera lacking one (and I wouldn't purchase a peripheral one for the other two options).

The GF1 looks amazing in all respects, but I don't know how I feel about the lack of dials for aperture and shutter speed and having to use a menu like I did on my G9. Does it impact speed and ease of use at all?