1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Struggling with Zoom Lens Selection

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Heavy Doody, Jan 8, 2013.

1. Heavy Doody

Heavy Doody Mu-43 Regular

Sep 17, 2012
    I'm pretty new to MFT still. Shooting an Olympus E-P3.

What I'm looking for is a 2-lens vacation kit. With my 5DM3 I carry these:

• 70-200 f/2.8 IS
    • 17-40 f/4

In terms of focal range and speed I absolutely couldn't ask for anything more. I spent two weeks traveling through Greece and Turkey and these lenses literally covered everything I wanted to shoot. I wanted for nothing, other than a lighter setup!

The replacements I'm considering in the MFT world are:

• Panasonic 35-100 f/2.8
    • Olympus M ED 9-18mm f/4.0-5.6

I'm guessing the 35-100 is a no-brainer, as the specs match and the user reviews seem to be good. Though I suspect I may be over-paying a bit for the O.I.S. since Olympus does it in-camera (rendering lens-based IS useless, I'm guessing).

The Oly 9-18 is close enough in focal length, though I'd sure like the f/4 speed when zoomed in.

Does this sound like a good match? Are there better matches out there? Are there 3rd party lenses (not Oly or Pano) I should be considering?

Thanks.

2. DoofClenas

DoofClenas Who needs a Mirror!

Nov 9, 2012
    Traverse City, MI
    Clint
    Why not the 7-14 instead of the 9-18?

3. Heavy Doody

Sep 17, 2012
    That's a real good question. I struggled between the two. Quite a bit. I think my Amazon wish list has changed about a half a dozen times.