1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Strip cleaning legacy primes?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Jdenkevitz, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Jdenkevitz

Jdenkevitz New to Mu-43

Feb 9, 2013
    Baltimore
    Ive been picking up various old primes off ebay. Some in great condition, others not so wonderful. Ive been fairly successful in taking a few apart that were more egregious and cleaning them out. Ive been using lens paper and some generic cleaning fluid, but im struggling with lint/dust residue using the paper.

Does anyone have any recommendations for cleaning off older lense elements?

A good soap or cream to clean off fungus that wont damage any coatings?

Also, do you prefer micro fiber clothes or lens paper?

Any tips would help!

2. gsk3

gsk3 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 29, 2012
    I have no experience trying them on lenses, so do this at your own risk, but my ultrasonic cleaner works wonders on SCUBA regulator parts. And they're cheap these days ($30-50 for a small one.

3. heli-mech

heli-mech Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2012
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Andrew
    Pure rubbing alcohol works, I've cleaned a 3 or 4 lenses with it and have never had issues with coatings.
    Lint is the bane of lens cleaning, I have used our downdraft paint booth at work to disassemble lenses, as well as a vacuum and "lint free" clothes.... Still got lint.
    What I have come to realize is that before cleaning you must decide what is better the current state of the lens or a bit of lint. The lint will have zero impact 99% of the time.

4. heli-mech

heli-mech Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2012
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    Andrew
    I made the fateful mistake of trying to clean my glasses in our ultrasonic cleaner at work.... Destroyed the coating, so I would not recommend it on lenses.

5. Nepherim

Nepherim Mu-43 Regular

May 27, 2012
    NJ, USA