Street Photography Budget Lenses for EPM1

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by witchcraftz, Feb 4, 2015.

1. witchcraftz

witchcraftz Mu-43 Regular

Mar 14, 2013
    Vancouver, BC
    I picked up an EPM1 a while back and I'm still learning to use it right.

After 2 years of taking pictures in all situations, with my camera (and my cellphone when I'm at work) I've come to the find out that my style is close to street photography, I love the city, industrial landscapes and interesting people going about their daily routines.

I have 2 lenses which I've been using:
    - Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7 ASPH
    - Olympus 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko ED Zoom Lens

I'm still a beginner but I think its time for a new lens.

Should I go with a zoom lens, a wide angle lens or a portrait lens?

What would you recommend?

2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    The Olympus 12mm would be a fantastic wide angle for the city. It's a costly beast, though.

EM10•GX1•EP1•GF3•9mmBCL•17mm2.8•30mm2.8

• Like Like x 1
  3. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    If you're on a budget, I'd recommend getting a 14mm 2.5 and either the 45mm 1.8 or Sigma 60mm 2.8. Primes in my opinion work best for street shooting mainly for keeping your kit small and discreet, and also to get that extra bit of light gathering since most the primes are fairly fast.

The 14mm 2.5 is actually my favorite street lens for daytime conditions. I've compared it to the 17 1.8, 20 1.7 and 25 1.4, and it's sharpness it's pretty close to all those lenses with the added benefit of being wider and a pancake. Great for close quarters shooting or when you need to go wide (but keep small). The Panasonic 15 and Olympus 12 are better than the 14mm, but cost a lot more. The Sigma 60 is nice too, because it's a bit longer for streets and cheaper than the 45mm. Either one will suffice.