1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

[Street] Embracing the grain

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by adic88, May 28, 2012.

1. adic88

adic88 Mu-43 Regular

May 25, 2012
    I'm not a pro, just an enthusiast. YMMV. Originally published on my blog, reprinting here to share with the M43 community.

Streeting has been a journey for me. It's one thing to compose a street photograph correctly, and to be decisive in the shutter capture. It's another to draw out the right impact of the photograph with adequate processing and editorial of the contact sheet. Some days, i go through a whole memory card that looks good in the camera's LCD only to be disappointed upon processing. A number of issues can arise -- the photo lacks critical focus on the subject, the dynamic range is unusable and cannot be recovered, etc. There is one other that i've been struggling with: despite the fact that the street elements are there, i'm unable to get the "feel" of the purpose. Technically adequate without being excellent, but emotionally empty, soul-less. That's a huge problem i've had in a great majority of the photos.

Sometimes, it feels like i'm getting closer. Most days it feels like i'm getting further away. One step forward, two steps back type of progress. Being positive, it doesn't mean that i'm getting worse, it just means that i'm discovering more and more what doesn't work.

Today, as i went about for my daily dose of street therapy (why does that sound so wrong? haha), i shot with something in mind, something i've been experimenting with lately -- let's see how many things i can get wrong by design and pick the "best" out of all the wrong. If nothing else, such an approach might defeat the trend of trying hard but getting nowhere; now i was trying to do badly and see where that would lead. Flipping the coin, so to speak, to see what was on the other side.