1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Street by Night ... share your shots if you have em...

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by tomO2013, Nov 6, 2013.

1. tomO2013

tomO2013 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 28, 2013
    Hi Guys,

I enjoy street photography. It is probably my favourite type of shooting.

I've decided to sell my Fuji X system to fund additional lenses for my new EM-1... possibly even pick up the 0.95 voigtlander for the purposes of night shooting.... but my experience with manual focus lens on the Fuji was fairly off putting, so I'm nervous to spend out such a huge chunk of change for a non autofocus on the Oly.

(BTW I do have a background in film originally and used to zone focussing... but the Fuji autofocus lenses that I had didn't have DOF scale on the lens or have split prism for focusing). I'm new to Oly so preferably would prefer to trust autofocus first till I get the hang of it. I love the scale on the side of the 12mm Oly lens.... a big deciding reason to move to the Oly.

So I am considering starting starting with 12mm, 45mm, 17mm in additional to the 12-40 zoom. Possibly also considering the 25mm Panaleica or 17mm Oly (optinions??)

The Oly lens rendering is a big deciding factor for me. I really like the Oly look , colours and the bokeh from the 75mm and LOVE the shots I'm seeing from the 12mm.

Up to and around ISO 1600 I'm aware that there shouldn't really be any real noticeable IQ differences between Fuji and Oly (more a case of which rendering you prefer, which colour interpretation you prefer) even when blown up....

However, beyond that from 3200 onwards, I'm aware that the Oly will introduce some noise. However, from reading the blogs and reviews, my understanding that the pixel pitch of the m/43 compact sensors means that when noise does occur, it is super fine grained and more 'film like' so noise in this sense isn't perceptively bad. Lending itself very well to B&W's.