Stiff Panasonic 14-42mm lens

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by RaZZ3R, Mar 23, 2012.

1. RaZZ3R

RaZZ3R Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2011
    Italy
    Ovidiu
    My lens seems to stiff to do video work and it's annoying even shooting stills. The zoom rings works good if a rotate it at high speed but when i trie to do it slowly it because so stiff that it jurks from one position to another and it's really anoying this sudden jumps betwen focal range and it's more wors for focus ring because i can not focus manual withou shacking the camera even the slightest bit and it makes it useless to shoot video with slow manual focus even on a tripod. Maybe I got a bad copy but it wasn't so annoying until I started shooting some videos. Please tell is it my lens, a this model lens type or my technic of rotating the rings slowlie on triepod thing ?

2. sin77

sin77 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 9, 2011
    Singapore
    Mine is similar to yours. Can't shoot video with it.

3. sin77

sin77 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 9, 2011
    Singapore
    btw Panasonic sells a zoom ring that has a lever for smooth zooming.

4. carpandean

carpandean Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 29, 2010
    Western NY
    I have owned two 14-42mm's and one 14-45mm (which I will always keep.) The 14-45mm always has and likely always will zoom more smoothly than either 14-42mm. However, with one of the 14-42mm's, I actually sat there and zoomed in and out for 10 minutes each day (while watching TV or something like that.) Eventually, the plastic-on-plastic did smooth out quite a bit. It still isn't perfect, but much better, and could probably be used for video without a problem.

5. RaZZ3R

RaZZ3R Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2011
    Italy
    Ovidiu