1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

stay with my ep5 VS replacing it with gm5

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by diegsman, Mar 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. diegsman

diegsman Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 19, 2014
    Philippines
    hi guys! hopefully anyone with user experience regarding these two bodies can put their 2 cents it or anyone who can help out in general :)

Been an m43 user with epl5 since 2013, then just recently acquired an ep5. just sold my 20 1.7 & 40-150 kit & am now left with the ff: 17 1.8, 25 1.8 & 45 1.8, & vf2. So yeah, pretty much been an oly guy.

Im mainly a hobbyist who shoot 50% portraits, 25% food, 25% street, all of which are more for enjoyment & blog purposes. Ive tried having 2 bodies before, but just seemed a bit much for my use & am now selling the epl5.

So this is my dilemma now, i kinda want a gm5.... i really don't know how i came up with the idea initially, but it's an itch i can't get over with.

--Cash value isn't a prob since in my country, me selling the ep5 vs getting a new gm5 & selling the 12-32 would be a close offset.
    --I like having a viewfinder just for having it when i need it(very seldom), but its still a neccessity.
    --i always did bring a 1 body, 3 lens setup. But recently a bit hated how bulky the ep5 is vs the epl5. and kinda want the gm5 so i can bring my cam anywhere considering the size, maybe even with just 1 lens this time around.
    --love how ep5 handles though, that dual dial is just godly compared to epl5's shutter & aperture adjusting.
    --a bit atttacted to the many more filter options of panny vs what oly offers on my body.
    --my ep5 does suffer a bit (i think) of some shutter shock, it does bug me sometimes when i pixel peep, but just a bit as its a rarity.
    --low battery of gm5 isnt an issue as i can get cheap batts.

SO, YEAH.. WITH THOSE FACTORS... SHOULD I TAKE THE SWITCH?
    would jpegs be of same results?