1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Stacking Lens Adapters

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by RedNumber5, Nov 24, 2012.

1. RedNumber5

RedNumber5 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 13, 2010
    Antioch, CA
    I've never tried stacking 2 lens adapters before and I was wondering if anyone here has done it with their m4/3 camera. I've got some Bronica ETRS lenses, the 40mm, 75mm and 150mm and right now Fotodiox has a 25% off sale for this weekend by entering in a discount code. Well I was thinking of getting the ETRS-EOS lens adapter and then getting an EOS-m4/3 adapter to use the lenses.

I just wonder if it would be worth it since I'll be paying for both adapters and also if using the ETRS lenses would get me anything that I don't get right now for my other adapted lenses, most of them being Canon FD and some M42 lenses. Plus wouldn't be the crop factor be more than 2X since these are of course medium format lenses.

2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    It will work, but with caveats. Fotodiox are cheap adapters. On their own, that's usually fine. But each one is slightly too short (to guarantee infinity focus), so the lens will focus farther and farther past infinity as you stack them. There will also be increasing amounts of play in the mount.

3. addieleman

addieleman Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 5, 2010
    The Netherlands
    Ad
    +1 on what Promit said about the adapters. There are also Bronica -> Nikon F adapters available from China/HK, supplement that with a very cheap Nikon F -> µ4/3 adapter and you won't be set back that much.