Soon to be mu4/3 newbie guy, from Philippines

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Bonedoc, Nov 7, 2011.

1. Bonedoc

Bonedoc Mu-43 Rookie

Hi everyone! I'm a soon to be newbie mu4/3 user from the beautiful islands of Mindanao here in the Philippines. My brod referred me to this forum when I was asking "advices" on mu4/3. I'm a DSLR user btw, and is still using them now, but I find them rather bulky for my hiking and mountaineering exploits.

I'm mulling over what to buy for my first micro 4/3 cost and quality are my foremost considerations. I hope you guys can help me with this.

I'm still in the process of reading the threads here, FAQs and guidelines so if you felt you can help enlighten me, please do so I would be grateful.

To the admin(s), thanks for adding me. To my fellow Pinoys here "magandang araw sa inyong lahat", to our international friends and fellow mu4/3 enthusiasts, my warm greetings to you all!

• Like Like x 4
  2. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley
    Welcome Bonedoc!

Fortunately, both Oly and Pany offer good entry level options with the EPM1 and GF3. It appears that the GF3 can be found discounted sometimes for as low as US$375 for the kit with the 14-42 standard zoom, not the X zoom.

The second hand market is quite robust as well. I'm sure there will be more GF1/2/3 as well as Pens that will be placed on sale with the release if the GX1.

3. Bonedoc

Bonedoc Mu-43 Rookie

Thanks Armanius! Im actually rooting for EP3. But seeing the newest GX1. I'm getting headaches and pocket aches with these...So on with my read, read and read some more....

• Like Like x 1
  4. agwe

agwe Mu-43 Regular

Jul 13, 2011
    Manila, Philippines