ArcticaMT6

Mu-43 Veteran
I figured I would create a thread that could be used for questions, answers, tips, and sharing of underwater photos. Let me preface this by saying that I'm not a professional. I'm a hobbyist that started about 2 years ago underwater. I'm still learning and experimenting, and have a long way to go before I'll be happy. Olympus actually provides more support to the underwater community than other manufacturers, so I think it's worth a thread. I know there's a few of us on this site that regularly shoot underwater, such as @Underwater , @Hypilein , @StefanKruse , and a few others. I will update this thread with photos from my dives as I go. Links to vendors that specialize in underwater photo gear will be at the bottom.

Let me get this out of the way first: It's not cheap to take a camera underwater. The camera itself is usually one of the cheaper parts. If you are looking for something that you can use for snapshots of your diving or snorkeling, buy a TG-5. Already waterproof to 15m/50ft, and does a decent job at it. It is the go-to recommendation for just about everyone looking for a cheaper camera to take underwater. If you want to go deeper than 15m/50ft with it, you can get an Olympus PT-058 housing for $300 US. GoPros are not very good for photos. I would avoid them unless you already have one.

The Gear

Housing: Other than specific action cameras in shallow water, you are going to need a housing. This is what the camera sits in and keeps the water out. This is typically made out of either polycarbonate plastic or a machined block of aluminum. Cheaper housings are made out of the polycarbonate, and the more expensive ones tend to be anodized aluminum. More expensive housings are typically set up to make it easier to use while diving, have higher quality materials, stiffer springs, and can have leak detection systems installed.