1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

So many options...

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Vicky, Aug 7, 2013.

1. Vicky

Vicky Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2013
    Hello everyone!

I've been reading about micro 4/3 cameras a while now, and I can't seem to choose. As a photography noob I find it difficult to decide which camera would suit me best.. Therefore I need your advice :smile:

I have two very active dogs; a Border Collie and a Sheltie. I'd love to take razor sharp action shots of them. Also, they play 'agility'. It's a dog sport, kinda like horse jumping competitions. A dog is able to run 4-5 m/s in such a trial, so it is crucial that the camera will be able to take a picture with fast shutter speeds en relatively high ISO and process this. These trials/trainings happen outdoors, so the lighting is not always at its best.

As experts; which camera would you advise me?

Note; as a student, I don't have loads of money so anything below 460$ would be perfect! But, if it's THE perfect camera, I'm willing to save up a bit more and raise the budget to 700$ :smile:

Thanks in advance!

2. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud
    In your budget, get the Panasonic G5 it has good ISO performance and fast focus and can be purchased at 299$. In order to get the best it is recommended to get a fast prime, the Panasonic 14mm can be bought for 160$ on Ebay.

3. Vicky

Vicky Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2013
    Thanks for the reply!!

Apparently, a G5 kit costs me about 730$ here in Belgium. :rolleyes:

If it's the best choice, I'll just save up a bit longer, but I wanted to check if there's a less expensive camera that will fit my needs too :smile:

4. Johnny_Alucard

Johnny_Alucard Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 28, 2013