1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Small studio light set-up for a newbie?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by dylandingo, Sep 10, 2012.

1. dylandingo

dylandingo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 12, 2011
    La Crosse, WI
    Hello, I have been itching to start trying out doing some more studio style portraits and I was wondering if anyone knew of a nice and affordable(would be a plus if it was under $200) studio light kit I could save up for. I have no experience in this area so I am open for different types of lights and whatnot. Somethings I am looking for is 2-3 lights and it would be a plus if it was somewhat portable(price is more important than portability to me right now.) A decent backdrop would be nice too but I think I will just try to make my own.

Even if you don't have a kit or anything in mind I would gladly accept any knowledge on lighting, DIY backdrop how to's, what kind of lights are good, a link to good info on the web, and whatever else anything thinks would be good information for a newbie. Thanks, you guys are always so helpful in this forum.

P.s. I will most likely just be using my Pany 20mm and Oly 45mm with the set up.

• Like Like x 1
  2. With_Eyes_Unclouded

With_Eyes_Unclouded Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 17, 2012
    Vassilios
    There is a number of kits on Amazon (the UK one, but I bet there would be similar in US), and also ebay. These usually include 2-3 strobes (with modeling lights), stands, a couple of softboxes and umbrellas, auxiliaries like barn doors, and they come with their own triggers.

I can't comment on the quality of these or (even more) the reliability, but a lot of people have found them useful for a small studio setup. They go for 250 to 350 euro usually. I suspect there is no great difference between several kits, they're probably made in the same Far East factory. :biggrin:

Backdrop with support will set you back another 50-70 euros/dollars. You can also chose to use white seamless paper.