1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Review SLR Magic 8mm f/4 mini-review

Discussion in 'Reviews, Tests, & Shootouts' started by RyanM, Apr 1, 2018.

1. RyanM

RyanM Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 16, 2017
    Hey all,

A couple weeks ago, I picked up the SLR Magic 8mm f/4 when the price dropped to $149 at BH. I've never done anything like this before, but there's not a lot of info out there about this lens, so I thought I'd write up my initial impressions.

First a bit of background about why I bought this lens. I've never shot ultra-wide angle photography before, but the sample images I'd seen were very intriguing. Also, everyone seems to agree that UWA lenses are challenging to use, so the challenge was appealing as well. That being said, I didn't want to commit a lot of cash to a lens that I might not like or might not be able to use effectively. I'm a grad student, so for me, value is critical. The SLR magic was the only rectilinear UWA in my budget. I maybe could have picked up a used Oly 9-18mm for about twice as much money, but that would've been a stretch, wasn't as wide, and doesn't seem to be regarded as stellar optically. I also toyed with the idea of defishing the Rokinon fisheye, which is reputed to be very sharp, but once you defish you're losing the great sharpness. Plus, for a UWA newb like myself, it seemed like it would be way easier to compose images that are already rectilinear than to compose with the fisheye intending to defish.