1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Sky at night advice

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by chonbhoy, Apr 23, 2013.

1. chonbhoy

chonbhoy Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 23, 2013
    Scottish Highlands
    Hi, I am getting excited about the possibilities in taking photos of the sky at night but the only problem is that im a complete novice :redface:
    I have spent a small fortune on my gear so far and hope that it is possible to get good results from the 12mm without buying a tracker (for now at least:wink:).
    I have wondered if the Panny 25 f1.4 would be a better option???
    I love the EM5 and even though im a novice I would have no problem considering a manual focus lens set-up too to get better shots.
    I'm constantly looking around the web for inspiration so that when i go to take my first shots It's not a complete stab in the dark :rolleyes:
    Any advice is greatly appreciated because right now i'm not sure if it is too much of an ask as I don't know anyone with an OMD EM5:frown:

2. arch stanton

arch stanton Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 25, 2012
    London
    Malc
    Just go play with them both if you own them! I think at those focal lengths you'll be fine with exposures up to about 30 secs, you could also look at stacking software to blend multiple exposures for more time. But just play, the 12 will take longer exposures before the stars trail...but that can be a great look too.

Put cam on tripod, widest aperture, stick on 2-sec timer (or 10-sec maybe if you're patient), lock the ISO low and fire away. If it's too dark, up the ISO or lengthen exposure. Maybe turn on anti-shock in the gear menus too, depends on how steady your tripod is...although I've taken moon shots on timer just resting the lens end on a brick!

Oh, focus can be a pain, there's a gear menu option to focus on infinity at startup - turn this on and just switch to MF before you focus anywhere else. Or grab a manual lens...