Sky Arts Masters of Photography.

Mike Wingate

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Mike Wingate
Just started watching this series on TV as the arts chanel is now free on channel 11 in the U.K. pretty interesting on many levels, portfolios, equipment choice, judges comments. Well worth a watch. I will see if the previous episodes are available.

Mike Wingate

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Mike Wingate
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Harsh! Very. I was a teacher for 47 years and hope I was a little more constructive with my comments. Photography and the arts are very subjective. I know what I like when I see it. But appreciate other people’s views. Rome is a city of light- too dark. Why have you changed the shot to B&W, too simple. Your photo is better than your explanation, shut up. Interesting to see they all had Leicas, I have chosen an automatic SLR said one lady. SL2 with a huge lens.

Equable

Mu-43 Veteran
Real Name
Rod
Sorry Mike, I went to edit my post where I asked if the judges seemed harsh and deleted it! :doh: Like you, I was not impressed by some of the comments, the one that really stood out for me was don’t make photos for us, the judges. When they did their own thing, they were castigated for that too.

Equable

Mu-43 Veteran
Real Name
Rod
I have watched a couple of series where budding artists compete, being given different tasks to complete each week, and submit them for judgement and critique. The judges gave constructive criticism and encouragement, I had hoped for the same in this series featuring photography. It seems to cater to the reality tv crowd and the judges appear to have been told to act accordingly, but I’ll give it another go, next Tuesday. Apparently Leica supplied the equipment originally and later programs feature the Canon R.

Mike Wingate

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Mike Wingate
Well, I hope to pick up some tips and insights as well as lust after Leica’s.

alex66

Mu-43 All-Pro