Sigma 19mm or 30mm?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by elandel, May 21, 2013.

1. elandel

elandel Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 16, 2010
    Milan, Italy
    Hi all,

I have a little problem. I just bought a 15mm lens Bodycap and now want to get a Sigma prime because very affordable. Haven't shot with the 15mm yet but just wondering: which one to get as I already have the 15mm even if it is not top notch IQ?

I do landscapes and church interiors and general travel photography as I'm not a pro but an amateur.

For portraits (that I don't do much) I have my D700 and Nikon 85mm 1.8 on the way.

Could you please help on decision?

2. drd1135

drd1135 Zen Snapshooter

Mar 17, 2011
    Southwest Virginia
    Steve
    Do you have the kit lens? If so try shooting at both FLs. I used to have the DA 40 on my Pentax K7 and that was the same effective FL as the 30. It was light and sharp but it just was a weird FL for me.

3. elandel

elandel Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 16, 2010
    Milan, Italy
    Yes I have the kit lens and the 14-150. Just wanted a prime for low-light and better IQ, maybe.

4. Photodan1

Photodan1 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 26, 2012
    Nashville, Tennessee, USA
    Dan
    The 15 mm body cap lens will not get you sharpness, compared to your kit lens, and it is a fixed f8 so it won't get you speed or low light capability either. I own the 19 Sigma and will probably sell it with an older body when the time comes. It is a good sharp lens though not terribly good in low light, but better than the kit lens. I recently bought the 17 1.8 and that is my go to lens for most things now

5. elandel

elandel Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 16, 2010
    Milan, Italy
    You are right but the 17 is much more expensive. Why is the 19 not so good in low light? For the 2.8 aperture? Or are there other reasons? Which would be better focal lenghts: 19 or 30?

6. BigTam

BigTam Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 19, 2012
    Dortmund, Germany
    Ron