1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Shutter speed issues on EM1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Ehoeft, Mar 13, 2015.

1. Ehoeft

Ehoeft Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 10, 2015
    Let me first start out by saying I'm new to photography and my EM1 going on 5 months now. I shoot mostly my 5 month old daughter. Now that's she's moving more and more I'm having a hard time getting pictures that's aren't blurry or out of focus.
    I shoot in A priority mode at 2.8 most of the time on my 12-40pro. Whenever I put it in shutter priority or manual priority to set my own shutter speed, it come out way under exposed and the picture is black. I have no clue what I'm doing wrong with this camera. I've tried to post process this in lightroom and the pictures aren't salvageable.
    Can anyone tell me what I have set up wrong for my in camera settings?
    Thanks in advance,
    Frustrated Dad

2. damianmkv

damianmkv Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 7, 2014
    Surrey, England
    Have you got the ISO upper limit set quite low ? If it is ( say ) 200, then you will need a longer exposure in darker conditions but it sounds like you're needing a quick shutter speed to capture your daughter so it's coming out black as not enough light is coming in

Hope that makes sense

3. maritan

maritan Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 30, 2014
    Do you have examples you could share with us? With exif data intact.

4. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    Is there anything blinking when you take the shot, like the aperture number? How do you choose the speed to use? Indoor you are going to need very low values or high ISO

Last edited: Mar 13, 2015
  5. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    Try buying a flash. I suspect you're just using too low a shutter speed in A mode and then under exposing in S and M modes. However, an example with EXIF intact is needed to really be sure.

6. m43happy

m43happy Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 18, 2012