Shutter count on EM1 ii with FW3.0

drd1135

Zen Snapshooter
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
6,034
Location
Southwest Virginia
Real Name
Steve
Weird problem. I'm trying to get a shutter count on my EM1 ii. I can get to the part where I get the camera designation, but when I do the U,D, L, R, shutter button it doesn't go to the first page of data. Treid this a bunch of times. I'm currently running FW 3 (not 3.1). Any ideas?
 
Last edited:

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,868
Location
UK
You should be on firmware 3.1 as 3.0 had a number of bugs. Upgrade.

Here are the exact instructions. They do work.
Check system information
- Camera OFF
- Hold down MENU button and turn ON the camera
- Release MENU button and press MENU again to get to Menus
- Go to LCD Brightness Menu, that's in Spanner Menu, fourth item down.
- Press RIGHT to show screen adjusters.
- Press INFO then OK. (Note this changes the screen.)
- The E-M1 II shows:
-- OLYMPUS
-- E-M1MarkII
-- 03 01 01 01
- Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears
- Press RIGHT for Page 2, DOWN for Page 3, LEFT for Page 4 and UP again to get Page 1

Page 2 shows:
MS 5181 [mechanical shutter count]
S 00007 [shot count with flash]
C 000000
U 000177 [turn on count which is ultrasonic wave cleaner count]
V 000000
B 000123 [seems to be total number of times shutter button is fully pressed for any reason]
L 000000

Page 3 shows:
CS: the serial number

On Page 4 is D:
Damage code log, blank is good.
 

bassman

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Apr 22, 2013
Messages
1,052
Location
New Jersey
Real Name
The Bassman
Mine works fine as described on firmware 3.1.

However, it displays
02 01 01 01

Rather than
03 01 01 01

What is the significance of this?
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,868
Location
UK
Mine works fine as described on firmware 3.1.

However, it displays
02 01 01 01

Rather than
03 01 01 01

What is the significance of this?
The resulting numbers I showed were just an example from my camera. Those numbers may relate to the region of the world.
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,868
Location
UK
I did the update and it now shows 02 01 01 01. Sadly it still doesn't get past this point. It's really weird because the camera works fine.
Do you understand what you need to do immediately after you get that display?
My instructions say "Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears" but perhaps it isn't clear that I mean you do as follows:
  1. Press Up button
  2. Press Down button
  3. Press Left button
  4. Press Right button
  5. Press the shutter release button all the way down as if taking a photo
  6. Press the Up button
 

drd1135

Zen Snapshooter
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
6,034
Location
Southwest Virginia
Real Name
Steve
Do you understand what you need to do immediately after you get that display?
My instructions say "Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears" but perhaps it isn't clear that I mean you do as follows:
  1. Press Up button
  2. Press Down button
  3. Press Left button
  4. Press Right button
  5. Press the shutter release button all the way down as if taking a photo
  6. Press the Up button
Yes, of course. It just does nothing.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom