Shucks... a little image help

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by TNcasual, Aug 14, 2015.

1. TNcasual

TNcasual Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 2, 2014
    Knoxville, TN
    I have been a jpeg shooter since getting my E-M10. I don't really have any issue with shooting in jpegs. I understand the limitations. My usage just hasn't necessitated the extra data in the RAW. ( I am not trying to start an argument.)

That being said, I think RAW would really have helped this image. I really need a little bit more DR to pull it out. This is my first attempt at PP.
    20559669001_bf3db5ecda_c.

I really like the subject, that I think I will try again.

Here is the link to the original. Feel free to attempt to PP it. I would be interested in what others can do.

2. JBoot

JBoot Mu-43 Regular

Dec 4, 2012
    Scotch Plains, NJ
    Jerry
    I think you need to enable downloading.

3. TNcasual

TNcasual Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 2, 2014
    Knoxville, TN
    I enabled the download. Although right-clicking and saving the original image could have been done from a browser.

4. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    What application did you use for PP?

I tried it in Lightroom and I can get the face a little lighter and the building a little darker so the tonal balance looks a bit better to me, but that is "to me". It may not be better to you. I can see slight artefacts along the edge of his face which I think are sharpening but I don't know whether that is from sharpening in camera or later in whatever processing you may have done. I also can't get the sort of gradation of skin tone I'd like to be able to get.