Show: Fireworks

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by Promit, Jul 4, 2011.

1. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    Hey, why not? It's the night for it after all. I'm rather new to this but it seems like I got some decent shots. All OOC JPEGS because I am just that lazy.
    • Like Like x 4
  2. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Great thing about fireworks is the learning curve is pretty quick. I just took almost 100 myself, all you need to do is vary the exposure till you start hitting it, and some keepers will definitely turn out! Great shots there!
  3. Roark

Roark Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2011
    Boston, MA
  4. guzziknight

guzziknight Mu-43 Veteran

May 18, 2011
    From the Sunday night display in Norcross, GA.

• Like Like x 3
  5. Djarum

Djarum Super Moderator

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Very nice shots both.
  6. travisgreen

travisgreen New to Mu-43

Apr 3, 2011
    The sunset set off the yellow signs.
    • Like Like x 2
  7. playak47

playak47 Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 4, 2010
    Amazing shots. What settings did you use? I was trying long exposure but it was catching all of the action like your shots do.
  8. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    For mine, my exposures kept getting longer, up to 10s near the end and aperture around 8. I tried ISO 125 and 200, didn't make much difference. Probably the hardest thing was firing the shutter at the right time. You have to click before the forework lights, or you will miss everything.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. guzziknight

guzziknight Mu-43 Veteran

May 18, 2011
    I had read a lot before I went to shoot these. Most things I read said that the f-stop would control the brightness of the fireworks, while the shutter would control the length.

Most of these were shot at f11-16. When I went wider than f11, the fireworks would tun white and lose their color.