Should I upgrade or is it a downgrade

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by 369, Jun 15, 2011.

1. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    i have olympus EP-1, my first real camera coming from point and shoot. I now feel that the kit lens the only lens I have is slow at focusing. I am contemplating selling the EP-1 for the EPL-2.

Also, where can i sell it to get a decent price,where do u guys sell your gears?

I also was planning to buy the 20mm 1.7 since i heard so many people talk only good things about this lens, but now with the 25mm 1.4 announced, i am thinking should I pay $200 more and get this one instead. I am not a pro or anything just like taking pictures, family, friends, vacation etc.

Is that lens even meant for an amateur like me, will I get its benefits.

2. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    Is the E-PL2 an upgrade from the E-P1? Well...that depends who you ask. Forma feature perspective the E-PL2 does more (has the accessory port for the VF2, better LCD, faster AF, a flash, etc.). Whether or not that constitutes an upgrade is up to you. The E-P1 has a better build, thumb wheel controls in addition to the rear dial, better IBIS and so on. I went from an E-PL1 to the E-P1 and I'm quite happy with the change. Ultimately, what do you want form the E-PL2 that you are not getting from the E-P1?

The Panasonic 20/1.7 is a very VERY good lens. It's in a different class than the kit lens (which is really not bad at all). I bought a Panasonic 14-45 kit lens and replaces the 14-42 with it. The only issue I have with the 20 is that people are gouging on the price for it. I bought mine for a bit under $300 and I see them going now for $500 used. The Panasonic 14/2.5 is also a terrific lens (if you like WA) and a bit cheaper than the 20 at the moment.