1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Should I send back my E-P3?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Henry, May 13, 2012.

1. Henry

Henry Mu-43 Regular

Apr 24, 2012
    Montreal
    Hello friends,

I recently purchased a silver E-P3 from Cameta. At first I was really amazed by the design and finish, the handling and overall upgrade from the older Pens beside one thing: The images i got in a low light situation.

I have been using E-PL1 for almost 2 years and I am happy with the results I get from the camera. I wouldn't think of upgrading it to an E-p3 if the E-PL1 had a dial or two...

The images I got from the E-P3 in low light are somehow over-processed and flat compared to the the E-PL1. The dark areas are muddy. I also notice E-p3's WB presents aren't the same in artificial light. I searched the web and tried to adjust the camera with other E-P3 users suggestions.

I don't use Noise Reduction and Noise filter is set to OFF. I tried to do all things necessary to be close to what I got out of my E-PL1 without success .

My questions is:
    Should I keep the E-p3 for Raw, would it solve the problem of over-processed flat images. I haven't done tests in Raw yet.
    or
    Should I return it and invest in a OM-D... (returning it means shipping is not refunded and I am in Canada, so it a 100$ loss)

Besides this problem, which is an important one for me, I really like everything else of the E-P3

Any suggestions will be greatly valued,
    Henry

2. b_rubenstein

b_rubenstein Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 20, 2012
    Melbourne, FL
    The E-P3 and E-PL1 RAW files should look identical, so long as you don't use the Olympus program (It reads and then applies the as shot camera) settings. All the Pens have adjustments for AWB, contrast and sharpening. You should be able to match the E-P3 reasonably close to the E-PL1.

3. M4/3

M4/3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 24, 2011