"Shootingstars" in the sky tonight.

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by Sniksekk, Aug 12, 2015.

1. Sniksekk

Sniksekk Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 7, 2015
    Hi, uncertain if I use the word correctly, but I`ve read that there will be "shootingstars" tonight.

I can`t go on a field-trip but the weatherforcast here is clear with no clouds.

I live in the capitol, so it`s alot of light here.
    Will I be able to take photos in my enviroment catching shootingstars?

And what settings?

F22, raise the ISO, 12mm (24mm on FF)?
    I do have a ND filter aswell, but that won`t do anything different?

2. sammykhalifa

sammykhalifa Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 22, 2012
    Pittsburgh PA
    Neil
    I've never done it before but I think I'm going to try tonight.

I think though (never sure) that you want to make the aperture 2.8 or big as you have on your lens.

3. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    You will be able to get the meteors. Best to get out of the city lights a little (maybe the coast?) and shoot northish. Dont stop the lens down but rather open it up as wide as it can go. No need for ND filters. Shutter speed will depend on your focal length. iso speed you will want up and you will just want to keep on taking frame after frame using the intervalmeter. You can always reduce the exposure in post processing.

I went out last night and saw 4 with the naked eye. Even heard one of them which must have been fairly close to the ground.

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. Sniksekk

Sniksekk Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 7, 2015
    North direction never crossed my mind.
    Glad you mentioned that.
    Don't got a interval meter but settings in camera might work?

5. esnift

esnift Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 17, 2013
    Boston, MA
    Dan